Rating: Four Bright and Shiny Stars out of 5

Book: Cinder: Book One of the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Published by: Macmillan Publishers on Jan 3, 2012

Genre(s): Fantasy; YA Literature; Fairy Tale; Science Fiction; Romance; Dystopian Fiction

Pages: 400

Format: E-Book

Source: Bought on Kindle Fire E-Reader

Summary

“. . . it unfolds with the magic of a fairy tale and the breakneck excitement of dystopian fiction.” –Publisher’s Weekly (starred review)

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless Lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Let me take you back to a brisk and cloudy Sunday morning: i’m curled up with my Kindle; buried deep under blankets, surrounded with warmth, when I realize I need a new book. So off I went reading blogs and reviews and top lists and this title refused to disappear. So finally, after hours of research and avoidance I click on the link to read about Cinder. Let’s be honest: I was not impressed. I did not want to read about cyborgs. Yet, I bought the book anyway and I will admit I opened the cover with a negative outlook because I could already tell that this would be a waste of my time.

Boy, could I have ever been more wrong!?! Cinder is an amazing twist on the standard Cinderella fairy tale. It includes most everything many YA readers are looking for; the hot love-interest that drives the protagonist to re-evaluate her life, the fairy tale-esque mood throughout the book, the subtle-yet undeniably hilarious characters, the real and true connection readers feel with the main character.

I could not put this book down! All in all,

I would recommend that anyone even remotely curious about Cinder should buy it.
The author, Marissa Meyer, is also such a cool person. Here is a little known fact for all the writers out there- Marissa Meyer actually wrote this book on NaNoWriMo!
Don’t know what that is? Go check it out! http://nanowrimo.org
Links to buy Cinder on Amazon and Barnes and Noble

 

 

 

