Hello my fabulous readers! Do I have a treat for you?! (The title might have given away the surprise but…)

AN EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR OF THE WAITING ROOM, ALYSHA KAYE!

Before you continue, keep in mind this is my first interview, so if there were questions I was supposed to ask but didn’t- I apologize. Anyways, read on!

(Paige) What inspired you to write your first book?

(Alysha) I had a dream about the room! I couldn’t get it out of my head so I finally put it down on paper:)

℗ How did you come up with the title?

 (A) It just seemed simple and fitting- a room where you wait, The Waiting Room!

℗ Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 (A) I definitely wanted to send a message about growing and changing as an individual- Nina and Jude realize that over time, through many lives, people can shape a new and improved way of life! I also think there are messages about love, friendship, and belief- but those are all left up to readers’ interpretations!

℗ What books have most influenced your life most?

 (A) Anything by Salinger. More recently, The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Book Thief.

℗ If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

 (A) Such a tough question. I think I’d have to say Audrey Niffenegger- her style is an art. It inspired me to start my novel.

℗ What book are you reading now?

 (A) I’m reading Zusak’s new one- I Am The Messenger.

℗ Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 (A) Zusak is new to me! I look forward to reading all of his work.

℗ What are your current projects?

 (A) I am focusing on marketing The Waiting Room right now, but I hope to start my next novel soon!

℗ If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in The Waiting Room?

 (A) I think I would make it longer! It’s a very fast read, and a lot of people love that. But there are things I’d add if I could go back.

℗ Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 (A) I think it’s super challenging to stay diligent and dedicated to your craft- it’s so easy for life to get in the way.

℗ What did you learn while writing the Waiting Room?

 (A) I learned a lot about myself, my philosophical beliefs, my emotions…it was definitely a journey of self-exploration!

℗ Do you have any advice for other writers?

 (A) So much haha most importantly though? Don’t let others deter you in any way…be you, do what you love!

℗ Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 (A) Just thank you! Self-published authors need all the support they can get! Every time a new review is posted, I feel like I can fly:)
And thank you Alysha Kaye for both the amazing novel you’ve written and the interview.
Til next time,
Paige
