Rating:  1.5 Bright and Shiny Stars out of 5

Book: Mr. Right & Mr. Wrong by Grigory Ryzhakov

Published by: Flower Book on September 1, 2014

Genre(s): Women’s Fiction, Chick Lit

Pages: 261

Format: PDF

Source: I was given a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

               ***ONLY CONTINUE TO READ IF YOU ARE WILLING TO READ A HARSH REVIEW  ***

Summary from GoodReads 

Having two admirers can be a real headache, especially when a tough agronomy course at Imperial College comes on top of that, not forgetting a part-time job at a florist’s and a mother desperate to marry you off.

Have I mentioned a stalker who keeps sending roses, and a Professor who thinks it’s fine to bury you under an extra pile of academic papers? Arrrgh!

Blake may be cute and charming, but Terrence is no less attractive in his business suits. What is a poor girl to do? Dating both of them is the right thing if you listen to Trish and that’s exactly the way Kurt handles his men.

Party after party, you have to deal with these bouts of guilt mixed with hangovers while mulling over the same dilemma over and over again – Blake or Terrence? Terrence or Blake?
Think, Chloe, think!

Mr Right & Mr Wrong is a wonderfully warm and witty yet thoughtful romantic comedy, from which you will not only pick up tips on the intricacies of London dating, but also discover a few moral and ethical aspects of plant neurobiology. Not so much chick lit as chic lit, offering sophistication alongside Chloe’s amusing complications.

Okay. To start off, I must say that I was looking forward to this book. As many of you know I’ve been on a romance kick recently and the blurb for this book led me to believe that this would be another great summer read. With that I will let you know that this book, was a bit of a disappointment.

If you read my review policy, you know that I give every book atleast 50 pages. Shortly after the beginning of this book I was looking forward to that 50 page mark. But, when I got there, I decided that i should just read the entire thing- just in case that the book changed. It didn’t.

Now you may be thinking, “Paige, you are being pretty harsh! Was it really that bad? Can you explain the reasoning behind your distaste?”

Well, Im glad you asked.

For starters, I felt no connection with ANY of the characters. I thought the main character, Chloe, was a terrible person. Which can be fine in some books but not in this one. She was constantly drinking and making fun of her best friend. It wasn’t remotely funny. Then to top off my distaste for her, Chloe thought every guy she encountered was gay. I normally wouldn’t judge, but she used stereotypes to discern between “straight” and “gay” men. She questioned the sexual stays of any guy who dressed well or didn’t look manly enough. Needless to say, I was disappointed in these portrayals in this book.

HERE IS AN ACTUAL QUOTE FROM THE BOOK

“Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind being a fag hag for a while, but by now I want the company of a straight guy”

It wasn’t only her methods of sorting through Gay and Straight men that irked me, it was also the image that chloe portrayed of her BEST FRIEND.  Let me repeat, her BEST FRIEND. Let me explain, Chloe’s best friend is on the larger side. Chloe judges her for every bite of food she takes. Again, this is her BEST FRIEND.

I know you all don’t know me, but let me make this clear- I hate judgements based on stereotypes. I know we all do it, including myself, but there were too many in this book.

I know also want to say that this review is completely MY OPINION. Many people do like this book, and it is possible that you will too.

Final Report: I do not recommend this book to anyone. I am upset with the two hours I used to read it.

Until Next Time,

Paige

