Rating:  3 Bright and Shiny Stars out of 5

Book: Abducted (Lisa Gardner #1)  by T.R. Ragan

Published on: May 29th 2011

Genre(s): Thriller, Suspense, Mystery,

Pages: 357

Format: Kindle Edition

Source: Purchased

Summary from GoodReads 

Elizabeth Gardner (Lizzy) is seventeen-years old when she tells her parents she’s going out with her girlfriends. Instead, she meets up with her boyfriend, Jared Shayne. As she walks home beneath an inky black sky, her perfect night becomes her worst nightmare.

Fourteen years later, Lizzy is a licensed PI known as the ‘one who got away’. When she’s not searching for runaway teenagers, working on insurance scams, or talking to her therapist, she’s at the local high school teaching young girls to defend themselves. But her world is turned upside down for the second time after she receives a call from Jared Shayne. He’s an FBI special agent now and he needs her help. Lizzy has no plans to get involved. Not until Jared tells her the kidnapper left her a personalized note.

 

Talk about interesting.  T.R. Ragan, one of my favorite authors, has such a unique writing style that never fails to excite me.

Abducted is written through two separate points of view- that’s right– we get to read the story from not only our tough and complicated protagonist Lizzy, but also from our merciless killer(a man who literally tortures through the clever and disturbing use of SPIDERS). Which, let me just say, is BONE CHILLING!

So, Lizzy, our not-so-sweet hero, is one of many victims of the man who plays with spiders. Yet, unlike all the others, she escapes– by befriending our lonely killer!

But that isn’t the end of it, in fact, that is only the start of the story! 14 years later, the killer is calling her back, and because I’m a nice person- I will not spoil the ending ;P

So, Paige, you might be wondering, if you liked it so much, why did you only give it 3 stars?

Well, curious reader, I wasn’t as captivated by the Lizzy as I had hoped to be. I ended up liking Spider Man more than our actual hero, and during some parts of the story, I was even annoyed by Lizzy.

I never truly felt connected with her and therefore, never felt connected with a major part of the book.

And a quick aside- for those of you who follow my reviews- I have always been a sucker for romance, but the romantic plot in this story fell short. (Which is a big deal!!!)

So, although it is well-written and an interesting story line, I am not jumping out of my seat writing this review.

Until Next Time,

Paige

